Who can be subsequent CM of Uttarakhand? Will BJP guess on Dhami or search for a brand new CM?


oi-Deepika S


Google Oneindia News

Dehradun, Mar 12: Uncertainity over the subsequent chief minister of Uttarakhand has arisen, regardless of a landslide victory by the ruling Bharatiya Janata Celebration (BJP) after chief minister Pushkar Singh Dhami’s confronted defeat in his personal constituency of Khatima.

Pushkar Singh Dhami

At the least half a dozen names have begun doing the rounds as Dhami’s possible substitute, together with Chaubattakhal MLA Satpal Maharaj, Srinagar Garhwal MLA Dhan Singh Rawat, former chief minister Triveda Singh Rawat, who didn’t contest the polls this time, and Didihat legislator Bishan Singh Chufal.

Nevertheless, Trivendra Singh Rawat categorically dominated himself out of the race, telling reporters right here on Friday that had he been within the race, he would have contested the polls, as a substitute of staying out of the fray.

Names of former Union minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Union Minister of State for Defence Ajay Bhatt and Rajya Sabha MP Anil Baluni are additionally afloat.

A number of names invariably change into a butt of media hypothesis in Uttarakhand at any time when the prospect of a change of guard emerges within the state. Nevertheless, the BJP at all times brings a shock ingredient by selecting somebody who was out of the vary of media hypothesis.

About Dhami, he stated he could have misplaced his seat however he has received hearts.

Union minister Pralhad Joshi additionally attributed the occasion’s win in Uttarakhand to Dhami’s younger and dynamic management.

Nevertheless, a bit of BJP leaders listed below are of the view that the meeting polls have been contested within the identify of Dhami.

So, the occasion ought to proceed with Dhami, as a substitute of going for yet one more face, they are saying.

Dhami’s defeat from Khatima, a seat he had been successful since 2012, was probably the most notable on a day that noticed the BJP win 47 out of 70 meeting seats within the state.

Regardless of shedding Khatima, Dhami can nonetheless stay the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.

Article 164 (4) of the Indian Structure says a minister who for any interval of six consecutive months will not be a member of the Legislature of the State shall on the expiration of that interval stop to be a Minister. This may imply that Dhami will get six months to get elected from any constituency within the state in a by-election.

Story first printed: Saturday, March 12, 2022, 17:32 [IST]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.